Join the conversation. Share tips and solutions with fellow Online Labels users.
Welcome to our forum! If you are an existing Online Labels user please Sign In. If you are a new user please Register.
#1 Posted : 3/3/2017 6:03:51 PM(EST)
kim.e.lovo@gmail.com

United States

I am using waterproof labels with my laser printer. I recently made labels for 5ml bottles of essential oils, only to find that if any of the essential oil touches the printed label, the ink immediately dissolves. What to do?
#2 Posted : 3/4/2017 1:56:14 PM(EST)
Dave Carmany

United States

Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 45 post(s)
I checked your account and it appears that you are purchasing stock for laser printing. It sounds like there is an ingredient in oil that is causing the fused toner to breakdown. I am not an expert on chemistry so I can't speak as to what ingredient would cause the toner to break down. I might be able to do a little more research on that topic if you can provide some details on your ingredients in your oil.

What is the model of your printer? Can you confirm that you are getting good fusion of the toner to the material before the essential oils hit it? Is it easy to rub/scratch off the toner before it is touched by the oils?

Assuming you are getting good toner fusion prior to the oil touching the toner then there are a few things you may want to consider to improve the results.

You may want to consider putting an overcoat spray on the labels after printing. Krylon Preserve It normally works well and will make the label a little more resistant to the oils. I would recommend testing that option. You can read article on the topic below:

https://www.onlinelabels...label-overcoat-spray.htm

Another option would be to put a clear label over the top of the other label to effectively laminate the existing label. I am happy to send you samples of our clear labels for testing if you would like to fill out our sample request form at the link below.